Fever of Silence

Photo Source: https://twitter.com/archillect

 

Where I come from, they say “Silence is a sign of endorsement”, but for me, it is not necessarily true. I prefer silence over those endless and pointless vortexes of futile discussions. I often choose to keep it quiet and observe while I have the discussions I want to be involved in that fit with my own standards with the only one understands me the most, myself. That is not a very good thing to do, at least not always, because now I know no other way but to give that silent treatment to almost everybody. It is easier this way I guess, but for the long term, it is dangerous.

 

Fever of Silence

 

My chest is a cemetery

To all the needed unspoken words

My eyes are in a butchery

Because of my mind’s absurds

****

My liver detoxifies

My soul of human feelings

And my blood purifies

My veins of sentimental meanings

****

Petrified with a bleeding heart

I am striken with fever of silence

Watching my pulse rate chart

Going down in defiance

****

My lost looks of my eyes

Are wondering where am I laying them

I ran out of sighs

My breathes, into what world am I dragging them

****

I don’t think I have the answer

For I lost the battle

I couldn’t resist that cancer

And the price is the death rattle

****

So that’s it for me

It’s always good to admit a defeat

But it’s not the end of me

I have another battle to greet

Poem credit: Mo’men Ashour

 

I’m currently looking for support and a platform where I can publish my work to larger audience. If you are interested, please contact me.

Leave a Reply

