If Only

If only walls can speak

To shout out loud for me

To wake that cold soul, that lonely bleak

It may make me see

****

All I live is a lie

That smile I have to fake

That farewell I wait

To say my last goodbye

****

All that can be seen

Through my looking glass

Bid my heart, and lean

Shear off my lass

****

Slap that face, twice

Take its pulse once

Kiss that cheek thrice

God bless that vice

****

Stop pretending you’re alive

You are truly the walking dead

Invincible to knives

But feelings are so vulnerable to shed

****

Everything we do is but a reflection

Our attitudes, our actions

Our long-unforgetten passion

The overdue sanctions

****

Here it is, in sum

The story of my distorted soul

All my contradictions, or some

My last appeal, my final call

 

Poem Credit: Mo’men Ashour

 

Leave a Reply

